March 30, 2021: Online Social Choice Seminar

30 March – Dominic Peters* “Proportional Participatory Budgeting with Additive Utilities” (Hosted by Marcus Pivato)
* Harvard University
1PM GMT: 10AM Montevideo, 8AM Boston, 2PM Paris, 4PM in Moscow, 10PM in Seoul, and 2AM (next day) in Auckland.
Abstract. We study voting rules for participatory budgeting, where a group of voters collectively decides which projects should be funded using a common budget. We allow the projects to have arbitrary costs, and the voters to have arbitrary additive valuations over the projects. We formulate two axioms that guarantee proportional representation to groups of voters with common interests. To the best of our knowledge, all known rules for participatory budgeting do not satisfy either of the two axioms; in addition we show that the most prominent proportional rules for committee elections (such as Proportional Approval Voting) cannot be adapted to arbitrary costs nor to additive valuations so that they would satisfy our axioms of proportionality. We construct a simple and attractive voting rule that satisfies one of our axioms (for arbitrary costs and arbitrary additive valuations), and that can be evaluated in polynomial time. We prove that our other stronger axiom is also satisfiable, though by a computationally more expensive and less natural voting rule.
Joint work with Grzegorz Pierczyński and Piotr Skowron (https://arxiv.org/abs/2008.13276).
The talks are also announced and the slides/recordings posted on the seminar website https://sites.google.com/view/2021onlinescwseminars/home.
Here is the Zoom link information:
Meeting ID: 926 6298 7426
Passcode: 40133000

About Mauricio Bugarin

Mauricio Soares Bugarin is full professor at the Economics Department of the University of Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil. He received his PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1997 and is currently Leader of the Economics and Politics Research Group (CNPq-UnB). From 2006 to 2011 he was full professor of Economics at Insper Institute, São Paulo, Brazil, where he served as the director of undergraduate studies in Economics and created the joint degree program in Economics and Business Administration. Prof. Bugarin is a research fellow of the Brazilian National Research Council (CNPq) and served as a member of the Standing Committee of the Latin American Chapter of the Econometric Society from 2007 to 2011. He has produced numerous research articles published in peer reviewed journals, including the Journal of Mathematical Economics, Oxford Academic Papers, Public Choice, and Social Choice and Welfare; a book on the control of public expenditure in Brazil published by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation; several academic book chapters; and has received several academic prizes including Brazilian National Treasure Secretariat Prizes (Public Finance), a National Health Economics Prize, and the Haralambos Simeonides Prize for the best article in Economics published in a year by a Brazilian author. Prof. Bugarin’s main interests include public economics, public finance and the relationship between economics and politics. He regularly teaches PhD courses in game theory and mechanism design, the economics of incentives and information and positive political economics.
This entry was posted in Events, Opportunities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s