Online Social Choice seminar on 10 of August

Nisarg Shah* “Best of Both Worlds: Ex-Ante and Ex-Post Fairness in Resource Allocation” (Hosted by Jobst Heitzig)

* University of Toronto

Date: 10 August 2021.
Time: 4PM GMT: 9AM San Francisco, 12PM(noon) New York and Toronto, 1PM Rio de Janeiro, 6PM Paris, 7PM Moscow, 4AM (next day) Auckland

Abstract. We study the problem of allocating indivisible goods among agents with additive valuations. Prior work achieves exact fairness in expectation when randomization is allowed or approximate fairness when a deterministic allocation must be chosen. We set out to achieve both simultaneously, by constructing randomized allocations that are exactly fair ex ante and approximately fair ex post. Our main result is that a randomized allocation that is both envy-free ex ante and envy-free up to one good ex post always exists and can be computed efficiently. We also consider efficiency guarantees, provide other possibility and impossibility results, and extend our results to the allocation of indivisible chores. This is a  joint work with Rupert Freeman and Rohit Vaish.

Link to paper: https://www.cs.toronto.edu/~nisarg/papers/best_of_both.pdf

The talks are also announced and the slides/recordings posted on the seminar website https://sites.google.com/view/2021onlinescwseminars/home.

About Mauricio Bugarin

Mauricio Soares Bugarin is full professor at the Economics Department of the University of Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil. He received his PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1997 and is currently Leader of the Economics and Politics Research Group (CNPq-UnB). From 2006 to 2011 he was full professor of Economics at Insper Institute, São Paulo, Brazil, where he served as the director of undergraduate studies in Economics and created the joint degree program in Economics and Business Administration. Prof. Bugarin is a research fellow of the Brazilian National Research Council (CNPq) and served as a member of the Standing Committee of the Latin American Chapter of the Econometric Society from 2007 to 2011. He has produced numerous research articles published in peer reviewed journals, including the Journal of Mathematical Economics, Oxford Academic Papers, Public Choice, and Social Choice and Welfare; a book on the control of public expenditure in Brazil published by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation; several academic book chapters; and has received several academic prizes including Brazilian National Treasure Secretariat Prizes (Public Finance), a National Health Economics Prize, and the Haralambos Simeonides Prize for the best article in Economics published in a year by a Brazilian author. Prof. Bugarin’s main interests include public economics, public finance and the relationship between economics and politics. He regularly teaches PhD courses in game theory and mechanism design, the economics of incentives and information and positive political economics.
This entry was posted in Events, Opportunities, Webinar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s